Friday, September 26, 2014

Review | Age of Iron (Iron Age #1) by Angus Watson *8/10 stars*

Age of Iron

(Iron Age #1)

by Angus Watson


Page Count: 576 
Published: September 2nd 2014
Publisher: 
Orbit
Source: I received a paperback in exchange of an honest review from the publisher (Thanks Clara!)
My Rating: 8/10 Stars


Summary


The epic historical fantasy debut by British author Angus Watson, Age of Iron, fills the gaps in history of Roman occupation in Britain. 

Bloodthirsty druids and battle-hardened Iron Age warriors collide in the first volume of this action-packed historical fantasy trilogy which will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie and HBO’s Game of Thrones.

Legends aren't born. They’re forged.

Dug Sealskinner is a down-on-his-luck mercenary travelling south to join up with King Zadar’s army. But he keeps rescuing the wrong people. First, Spring, a child he finds scavenging on the battlefield, and then Lowa, one of Zadar’s most fearsome warriors, who’s vowed revenge on the king for her sister’s execution. Now Dug’s on the wrong side of that thousands-strong army he hoped to join and worse, Zadar has bloodthirsty druid magic on his side. 

All Dug has is his war hammer, one rescued child and one unpredictable, highly trained warrior with a lust for revenge that’s going to get them all killed . . . 

It's a glorious day to die.



About the author


Angus Watson is an author and journalist living in London. He’s written hundreds of features for many newspapers including The Times, Guardian, Financial Times and Telegraph, and the latter even sent him to look for Bigfoot. As a fan of both historical fiction and epic fantasy, Angus came up with the idea of writing a fantasy set in the Iron Age when exploring British hillforts for the Telegraph, and developed the story while walking Britain’s ancient paths for further articles.





My verdict


I wasn't really sure what to expect from Age of Iron at first. What with the unusual characters and the fact that not a lot is known about the British Iron Age (plus I'm not really into history). So, though I don't usually read historical fantasy/fiction, the summary drew me in enough to give it a try. And I'm glad I did. 

There were many scenes dark and twisted enough that made me cringe, yet gave the story a meaning and weight. One of the things that impressed me the most about this book was the pace of the story, not slow not too fast, the seemingly effortless, casual writing style and the grayness of the characters. I hated the bad guys almost as much as I loved the three main protagonists.

A twisted, dark, somewhat funny and gripping read, Age of Iron kept me glued till the end. Now I can't wait for book two to come out! 





Buy the book


No comments :

Post a Comment

I'd love to hear from you!

Ratings and Recommendations by outbrain