Friday, September 26, 2014

Review | Age of Iron (Iron Age #1) by Angus Watson *8/10 stars*

Age of Iron

(Iron Age #1)

by Angus Watson


Page Count: 576 
Published: September 2nd 2014
Publisher: 
Orbit
Source: I received a paperback in exchange of an honest review from the publisher (Thanks Clara!)
My Rating: 8/10 Stars


Summary


The epic historical fantasy debut by British author Angus Watson, Age of Iron, fills the gaps in history of Roman occupation in Britain. 

Bloodthirsty druids and battle-hardened Iron Age warriors collide in the first volume of this action-packed historical fantasy trilogy which will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie and HBO’s Game of Thrones.

Legends aren't born. They’re forged.

Dug Sealskinner is a down-on-his-luck mercenary travelling south to join up with King Zadar’s army. But he keeps rescuing the wrong people. First, Spring, a child he finds scavenging on the battlefield, and then Lowa, one of Zadar’s most fearsome warriors, who’s vowed revenge on the king for her sister’s execution. Now Dug’s on the wrong side of that thousands-strong army he hoped to join and worse, Zadar has bloodthirsty druid magic on his side. 

All Dug has is his war hammer, one rescued child and one unpredictable, highly trained warrior with a lust for revenge that’s going to get them all killed . . . 

It's a glorious day to die.



About the author


Angus Watson is an author and journalist living in London. He’s written hundreds of features for many newspapers including The Times, Guardian, Financial Times and Telegraph, and the latter even sent him to look for Bigfoot. As a fan of both historical fiction and epic fantasy, Angus came up with the idea of writing a fantasy set in the Iron Age when exploring British hillforts for the Telegraph, and developed the story while walking Britain’s ancient paths for further articles.





My verdict


I wasn't really sure what to expect from Age of Iron at first. What with the unusual characters and the fact that not a lot is known about the British Iron Age (plus I'm not really into history). So, though I don't usually read historical fantasy/fiction, the summary drew me in enough to give it a try. And I'm glad I did. 

There were many scenes dark and twisted enough that made me cringe, yet gave the story a meaning and weight. One of the things that impressed me the most about this book was the pace of the story, not slow not too fast, the seemingly effortless, casual writing style and the grayness of the characters. I hated the bad guys almost as much as I loved the three main protagonists.

A twisted, dark, somewhat funny and gripping read, Age of Iron kept me glued till the end. Now I can't wait for book two to come out! 





Buy the book


Tuesday, September 23, 2014

INTL Win a $100 Amazon Gift Card | Lobo Goes to the Galapagos by C.L. Murphy

Lobo Goes to the Galapagos by C. L. Murphy

Lobo Goes to the Galapagos

(The Adventures of Lovable Lobo)

by C.L. Murphy

Published on: August 27, 2014
Publisher: Peanut Butter Prose
Pages:32
Recommended Ages: 3 to 7


Lobo returns in this adventure, sweeter and a bit salty this time. This lil' wolf pup finds that there's nothing like a little sea air to bring out the best in him and his unlikely tag-alongs. 

Take a trip to the Galapagos with Lobo and his right-hand raven, Roxy, as they help an injured, new feathered friend return home. 

Lobo faces some fears and witnesses the joy that comes from helping others in this "birds of a different feather DO flock together" tale.


Book Preview




Purchase

Amazon | iTunes


The Buzz

"Who knew geography and learning about animals could be this much fun? Lobo Goes to the Galapagos is my new favorite children's book and is highly recommended. " ~ Jack Magnus, Readers' Favorite
"While Ms, Murphy's uniquely whimsical and vibrant illustrative style is perfectly suited for the wild, tropical feel of this colorful book, and easily captures young readers' attention, there is also a subtle, quiet beauty to the storyline's overarching themes of friendship, trust, perseverance, and goodwill. Lobo's tenacious and giving spirit are delightfully captured in this fifth installment of puppy-fueled fun. In fact, it's sincerely so easy to fall in love with "Lovable" Lobo that I'd happily follow this well-meaning, big-hearted, wolf pup to the very ends of the earth!" ~ 5 Star Review, Indie Author Girl, Amazon
"What an adorable story! I read this to my nephew and he couldn't stop giggling at the silliness of Roxy as well as Lobo's cute friends Bobby, Sunny, Coconut and Sandra. The author was very clever in portraying a tale of friendship, adventure and excitement that is sure to enthuse young minds around the world." ~ 5 Star Review, Gina D., Amazon


About the author


C.L.Murphy
While new to the children’s book writing and illustrating scene, C.L. Murphy (Cathy) has been doodling her way through life since she won a school wide poster contest in the third grade. She’s had the pleasure of working as an artist in residence, creating cartoons and painting murals with the children at local elementary schools. She adores the wonder and curiosity of young children.

She feels that creating picture books is something that she was destined to do, after years of filing away so many ideas, while raising her two sons. She is a member of SCBWI.

She lives amongst the wildlife in an enchanted forest in the beautiful Oregon wilderness with her husband and menagerie. She has always appreciated nature and animals have always played a major role in her life. The inspiration for the Lovable Lobo character came from a wolf that she raised for over 14 years.

Check out her book series and discover that you, too, will find Lobo lovable.

Book Website | Author Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads


Giveaway


Prize: One winner will receive a $100 Amazon gift card or PayPal cash prize (winner's choice)
Contest Ends: October 23, 11:59 pm, 2014
Open: Internationally
How to enter: Please enter using the Rafflecopter widget below.
Terms and Conditions: NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. The winner will be randomly drawn through the Rafflecopter widget and will be contacted by email within 48 hours after the giveaway ends. The winner will then have 72 hours to respond. If a winner does not respond within 72 hours, a new draw will take place for a new winner. Odds of winning will vary depending on the number of eligible entries received. This contest is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with Facebook. This giveaway is sponsored by C.L. Murphy and is hosted and managed by Renee from Mother Daughter Book Reviews. If you have any additional questions - feel free to send and email to Renee(at)MotherDaughterBookReviews(dot)com.

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Monday, September 22, 2014

INTL Win a $50 iTunes Gift Card & eBooks | Worlds Collide by S. M. McEachern


Worlds Collide

by S.M. McEachern

(Sunset Rising #2) 
Publication date: March 3rd 2014
Genres: Dystopia, Young Adult

In a desperate attempt to escape execution, Sunny O’Donnell and Jack Kenner find a way out of the Pit and into a world still believed to be toxic with radiation. 

Under the brilliant sun for the first time in their lives, they not only discover that the earth has healed from nuclear war, but there are people outside the Dome.

In Worlds Collide, the second book of the Sunset Rising trilogy, Sunny and Jack must continue a life of subterfuge in order to stay alive and find a way to free the Pit. 

But in their attempt to save the urchins, they uncover the horrifying truth about President Holt and the evil he could unleash on the world.












Purchase


Sunset Rising

Worlds Collide

Excerpt


His hand gently wrapped around my arm and I resisted the urge to yank away from his touch. I was angry, but I was conscious of the fact that we promised each other before setting out for dinner that we were just playing our roles. It was necessary for our survival. I wasn’t a stranger to being a slave. I was born one. Yet being Jack’s slave had been humiliating. He was my partner, my almost-lover and my friend. It made hearing his role in the sterilization program that much harder to take. I thought I knew him, but he was still a stranger.
He turned me around to face him, his expression sad and apologetic. “Sunny…I’m sorry.”
I could tell he was struggling and a part of me was grateful that he might be feeling some remorse. “The sterilization program?” 
My voice broke around the lump in my throat. For once I was glad my emotions had stolen my ability to speak. I didn’t want to talk. I just wanted to shut down.
“I was a little kid when my parents campaigned for that program,” Jack said, his voice cracking with emotion. “They pushed it through as an alternative to lowering the age of the Cull. They saved thousands in the Pit from being rounded up and killed.”
I opened my mouth to speak, challenging that lump, but my tears decided it was a good time to show up. I jerked my arm out of his grasp and started toward the bedroom.
“Don’t walk away from me.” 
I stopped and turned to look at him. “Was that an order, sir?”
We glared at each other from across the room. Jack was the first to look away. “No, it wasn’t,” he said. He rubbed a hand across his eyes.
I continued to glare at him. “Is that why you were acting so jumpy earlier tonight? You were afraid I’d find out what you’re really like?”
“I’ll admit it was one of the reasons.”
My eyes widened in shock at his honesty.
“Don’t look so surprised, Sunny. I was the presidential heir! You think I didn’t do anything to earn that title?” He stared at me, waiting for my reply.
I didn’t have one. Maybe because at some point during our association I had convinced myself that the presidential heir I had seen on TV so many times didn’t actually exist. That man was just an image and not the same person I had lived with in the Pit. 
“I told you before we left the Dome, you changed me,” he said, breaking the silence that had grown between us. “I had my eyes opened during my time down there.”



About the author


S.M. McEachern was born in Nova Scotia, Canada. She attended Dalhousie University in the 1990s where she earned an Honours Degree in International Development Studies. She worked in the field of International Development for several years, specializing in ocean development.

"Sunset Rising" is S.M. McEachern's first novel. She says the idea for the story first came to her in the 1990s when she researched a Bio-Dome experiment in Arizona for an academic paper. The thought that the world might one day need a Bio-Dome to escape a global catastrophe set her imagination into overdrive. And the ethics behind such an idea formed the backdrop for Sunset Rising.

Her goal in writing the novel is to entertain the reader with an interesting plot and colourful characters.



Giveaway


50$ iTunes Gift Card (INTL)
5x eBook copy of Worlds Collide (INTL)



a Rafflecopter giveaway


Ratings and Recommendations by outbrain